Licensing and Regulation

Interior Design laws assist in establishing and maintaining professional standards that protect the health, safety and welfare of the general public. IIDA firmly believes that legal recognition, achieved through licensing, registration, and certification brings uniformity to the profession, defines responsibility, provides accountability, increases the quality of client services and choices and encourages excellence in the Interior Design industry.

To date, Interior Design laws have been enacted in 27 U.S. states, including the District of Columbia and Puerto Rico, and 8 Canadian provinces.

In some states, use of the term “Interior Designer” is limited to those professionals meeting the state’s requirements. In others states they regulate the use of “Certified Interior Designer,” “Registered Interior Designer” or another specified title. Some states also regulate the practice of interior design, as defined by the state law, and unlicensed professionals are prohibited from performing certain interior design services. The rights and responsibilities provided to licensed Interior Designers vary among jurisdictions.

Learn more about the existing Interior Design licensing and registration laws by visiting the IIDA National Website.

State Licensing Guide

IIDA Legislative Video

Become an advocate!

Get Involved

  • Become a member
  • Become a sponsor
  • Educational opportunities
  • Volunteer
  • Join a study group
  • There are a number of ways you can get involved. Contact us today to find out how.

Latest From Flickr

  • 2017 IIDA RMC Denver Gala (24)
  • 2017 IIDA RMC Denver Gala (23)
  • 2017 IIDA RMC Denver Gala (22)
  • 2017 IIDA RMC Denver Gala (21)

From Twitter

Join us as we discuss what's in store for the future, and how you can help stand up for your right to practice!... fb.me/FwYPLYQE

About 2 weeks ago from IIDA RMC's Twitter via Facebook

Get IIDARMC Updates

Stay informed of IIDA RMC news and announcements as they happen. Sign up for the newsletter.